College World Series Legends Team Announced

May 6, 2010

28 CWS Stars Honored

INDIANAPOLIS - As part of the commemoration of the final Series in Omaha’s Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium, the NCAA and College World Series, Inc., have announced the official College World Series Legends Team.

The 28 members of the Legends Team, pared down from an original list of 95 nominees, were selected after more than 100,000 votes were cast by college baseball fans, college baseball writers and Division I head baseball coaches. The members of the Legends Team are former student-athletes and coaches who had the best CWS performances throughout the 60 years the event has been played at Rosenblatt Stadium.

Voting for the team was based solely on the former student-athletes’ performance when they were competing in the NCAA College World Series, and not for any regular season or post-collegiate performances.

The 28 members by name, school, position and year are:

Name Institution Position Year In CWS
Will Clark Mississippi State University 1B 1985
Dustin Ackley University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill 1B 2007-09
Bob Horner Arizona State University 2B 1976-78
Todd Walker Louisiana State University 2B 1993-94
Spike Owen University of Texas at Austin SS 1981-82
Nomar Garciaparra Georgia Institute of Technology SS 1994
*Darwin Barney Oregon State University SS 2005-07
Sal Bando Arizona State University 3B 1964-65
Robin Ventura Oklahoma State University 3B 1986-87
*Pat Burrell University of Miami (Florida) 3B 1996-98
Fred Lynn University of Southern California OF 1971-73
Dave Winfield University of Minnesota, Twin Cities OF 1973
Terry Francona University of Arizona OF 1979-80
Barry Bonds Arizona State University OF 1983-84
Mark Kotsay California State University, Fullerton OF 1994-95
J.D. Drew Florida State University OF 1995-96
Steve Arlin The Ohio State University P 1965-66
Burt Hooton University of Texas at Austin P 1969-70
*Eddie Bane Arizona State University P 1972-73
Huston Street University of Texas at Austin P 2002-04
Jason Windsor California State University, Fullerton P 2004
Landon Powell University of South Carolina, Columbia C 2002-04
Ryan Garko Stanford University C 2001-03
Pete Incaviglia Oklahoma State University DH 1983-85
Brooks Kieschnick University of Texas at Austin DH 1992-93
Skip Bertman Louisiana State University Coach 1986-87, 89-91, 93-94, 96-98, 2000
Rod Dedeaux University of Southern California Coach 1951, 55, 58, 60-61, 63-64, 66, 68, 70-74, 78
Augie Garrido California State University, Fullerton / University of Texas at Austin Coach 1975, 79, 82, 84, 92, 94-95 / 2000, 02-05, 09

*Utility Players

“With the history of the College World Series and all the great players to have been involved in the event, it’s an honor to be named to the Legends Team,” said Robin Ventura, who led his Oklahoma State team to consecutive College World Series appearances in 1986 and 1987.

Will Clark was the leading vote getter with more than 3,000 votes. Dave Winfield was the second leading vote getter with just under 3,000 votes.

The 28 CWS Legends Team members will be invited to attend the final College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium as guests of the NCAA. The members will be formally honored on-field during the CWS Opening Ceremonies on June 18, and invited to attend the first day of CWS competition on June 19. Mock baseball cards of each member featuring their collegiate photos will be posted on

“It’s a great honor,” said former Georgia Tech shortstop Nomar Garciaparra. “I’ve always believed that one of my favorite experiences in baseball was the College World Series. And now I look forward to working the games as a commentator for ESPN in June.”

A committee of select individuals from the National Baseball Writers Association, the Omaha World-Herald and NCAA staff was created to compose the original list of 95 nominees. This list included every former student-athlete who was voted onto a previous CWS anniversary team (25th, 50th and all-decade teams), as well as individuals who played in CWS in the last 14 years.

The utility players were determined by the oversight committee after the fan voting was completed. They represent those student-athletes who deserved recognition but did not garner enough votes at a particular position.

Tickets for the 2010 NCAA Men’s College World Series can be purchased by calling or logging on to For more information on the Legends Team and the 2010 Men’s College World Series, log on

(Courtesy NCAA Release)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *