USA Today/ESPN College Baseball Coaches’ Poll – Feb. 25

February 25, 2013

Tar Heels Are Tops…

North Carolina is the new number one team in the first regular season USA Today/ESPN College Baseball Coaches’ Poll of 2013. Arkansas, the preseason No. 1, is at number two this week. The biggest jumps in the poll have preseason No. 14 Oregon State and preseason No. 22 Cal State Fullerton at No. 5 and No. 9, respectively, this week.

1. North Carolina (6-0)
2. Arkansas (7-1)
3. Vanderbilt (7-1)
4. LSU (6-1)
5. Oregon St. (8-0)
6. Florida St. (7-0)
7. Oregon (6-1)
8. South Carolina (5-1)
9. Cal State Fullerton (8-0)
10. Arizona (7-1)
11. UCLA (4-2)
12. Oklahoma (9-0)
13. Mississippi St. (9-0)
14. Rice (5-2)
15. Kentucky (5-1)
16. Stanford (5-2)
17. Mississippi (7-0)
18. North Carolina St. (5-1)
19. Virginia (7-0)
20. Georgia Tech (6-1)
21. Miami (7-0)
22. Louisville (6-1)
23. Texas (6-1)
24. UC Irvine (6-1)
25. Arizona St. (4-2)

Others receiving votes: Clemson, Cal Poly, Florida, Florida Gulf Coast, Notre Dame, Oklahoma State, Pepperdine, Texas A&M, Alabama, Missouri State, Pittsburgh, TCU, Southern Miss, Virginia Tech, Auburn, South Alabama, Louisiana-Lafayette, Creighton, Mercer, Radford, San Diego, Tulane

The USA TODAY Sports Board of Coaches is made up of 31 coaches at Division I institutions. All are members of the American Baseball Coaches Association. The board for the 2013 season: John Anderson, Minnesota; Ed Blankmeyer, St. John’s; Rob Cooper, Wright State; Barry Davis, Rider; Greg DiCenzo, Holy Cross; Pete Dunn, Stetson; Nino Giarrantano, San Francisco; Gary Gilmore, Coastal Carolina; Danny Hall, Georgia Tech; Carlton Hardy, Savannah State; Rodney Hennon, Georgia Southern; Loren Hibbs, Charlotte; Charlie Hickey, Central Connecticut State; George Horton, Oregon; Steve Jaksa, Central Michigan; Omar Johnson, Jackson State; Rick Jones, Tulane; Rob McDonald, Murray State; Eric Madsen, Utah Valley; John Musachio, Oakland (Mich.); Bobby Pierce, Troy; David Pierce, Sam Houston State; Gary Powers, Nevada; Mark Scalf, UNC-Wilmington; Matt Senk, Stony Brook; Dave Serrano, Tennessee; Ed Servais, Creighton; Doug Smith, UC-Riverside; Steve Smith, Baylor; Rocky Ward, New Mexico State; Bob Whalen, Dartmouth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *