USA Today/ESPN College Baseball Coaches’ Poll – June 26

June 27, 2012

Final Ranking of 2012 Season…

Arizona's Seth Mejias-Brean and the Arizona mascot pose with the national championship trophy (Photo-Kirk Markus)

The top eight teams in the final polls of the season are always easy to determine. Arizona, this year’s national champion, is No. 1, followed by runner-up South Carolina and so on. Kent State and Stony Brook come in with the highest final rankings their programs will ever receive at seventh and eighth, respectively. Here’s the full top 25 as well as the “others receiving votes” to close the 2012 college baseball season.

The Dugout in Omaha has official College World Series gear for each of the eight teams, including those Stony Brook Seawolves. If you want to be the first kid (no matter what age) on your block to have this year’s official CWS shirts, hats and more (both for individual teams or generic) click the red link and get to The Dugout’sweb site!

If you’re going to Omaha for the CWS you can also visit The Dugout. It’s right across the street from the home plate entrance to TD Ameritrade Park.

Rank   Team  (First-Place Votes)  Record

  1. Arizona (31) 48-17
  2. South Carolina 49-20
  3. Arkansas 46-22
  4. Florida St. 50-17
  5. UCLA 48-16
  6. Florida 47-20
  7. Kent St. 47-20
  8. Stony Brook 52-15
  9. Baylor 49-17
  10. Oregon 46-19
  11. LSU 47-18
  12. Stanford 41-18
  13. North Carolina St. 43-20
  14. Oklahoma 42-25
  15. TCU 40-22
  16. St. John’s 40-23
  17. North Carolina 46-16
  18. Texas A&M 43-18
  19. Kentucky 45-18
  20. Rice 41-19
  21. Purdue 45-14
  22. Oregon St. 40-20
  23. Virginia 39-19-1
  24. Central Florida 45-17
  25. Vanderbilt 35-28

Dropped out: No. 19 Cal State-Fullerton, No. 21 Miami (Fla.), No. 22 Mississippi State, No. 23 San Diego, No. 24 Georgia Tech, No. 25 Louisville.

Others receiving votes: Mississippi State (40-24) 59; Cal State-Fullerton (36-21) 52; Mississippi (37-26) 50; Georgia Tech (38-26) 41; Dallas Baptist (41-19) 34; Louisville (41-22) 29; Clemson (35-28) 22; Appalachian State (41-18) 21; Pepperdine (36-23) 20; Miami (Fla.) (36-23) 13; San Diego (40-17) 10; Missouri State (40-22) 3; Sam Houston State (40-22) 3; Creighton (28-30) 2; Austin Peay (40-24) 1; Cal Poly (36-20) 1.

The USA TODAY/ESPN Board of Coaches is made up of 31 coaches at Division I institutions. All are members of the American Baseball Coaches Association. The board for the 2012 season: Terry Alexander, Jacksonville; John Anderson, Minnesota; Ed Blankmeyer, St. John’s; Rob Cooper, Wright State; Sherman Corbett, Texas-San Antonio; Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt; Barry Davis, Rider; Greg DiCenzo, Holy Cross; Mike Gaski, UNC-Greensboro; Nino Giarratano, San Francisco; Gary Gilmore, Coastal Carolina; Keith Guttin, Missouri State; Danny Hall, Georgia Tech; Carlton Hardy, Savannah State; Donny Harrel, Seattle University; Loren Hibbs, Charlotte; Charlie Hickey, Central Connecticut State; George Horton, Oregon; Steve Jaksa, Central Michigan; Omar Johnson, Jackson State; Rick Jones, Tulane; John Musachio, Oakland (Mich.); Bobby Pierce, Troy; Gary Powers, Nevada; Mark Scalf, UNC-Wilmington; Jim Schlossnagle, TCU; Jim Schmitz, Eastern Illinois; Matt Senk, Stony Brook; Doug Smith, UC-Riverside; Steve Smith, Baylor; Bob Whalen, Dartmouth.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *