2010 Johnny Bench Award Semifinalists Announced

May 20, 2010

16 Catchers Remain On In Contention

Wichita, KS - The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced today the list of sixteen semifinalists for the 2010 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by Papa John’s Pizza.

The Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award Semifinalists
Jeff Arnold, University of Louisville;
Jett Bandy, University of Arizona;
Chris Berset, University of Michigan;
Robert Brantly, UC Riverside;
Dan Burkhart, Ohio State University;
Micah Gibbs, Louisiana State University;
Andrew Giobbi, Vanderbilt University;
Yasmani Grandal, University of Miami;
Ben Heath, Pennsylvania State University;
Bryan Holaday, Texas Christian University;
Jose Iglesias, Coastal Carolina University;
Jim Klocke, Southeast Missouri State;
Ryan Lipkin, University of San Francisco;
Matt Rice, Western Kentucky;
Cameron Rupp, University of Texas and
Derek Trent, East Tennessee State University.
Statistics will now be compiled on each of the semifinalists and sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 2, 2010 prior to the NCAA Regionals and Major League Baseball Draft.

A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 13th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on July 1, 2010.

Bench’s career honors include: National League Rookie of the Year (1968); National League Most Valuable Player (1970, 1972); World Series Most Valuable Player (1976); 14-time All-Star and 10-time Gold Glove winner. In 1980, he set an endurance record by catching 100+ games for 13 consecutive seasons. Bench was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in January 1989 with the fourth highest percentage of total votes cast.

(Press Release)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *