2010 Johnny Bench Award Watch List

March 2, 2010

53 Catchers On The Initial List

Illinois catcher Aaron Johnson is among the 53 catchers on the Johnny Bench Award Watch List.

Wichita, KS– The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission has announced the official watch list for the 2010 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by Papa John’s Pizza.  A total of 53 catchers were nominated for the honor by their coaches.  The award is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate catcher.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists, which will be announced on May 19th.  Ballots will then be sent to a national voting panel at the end of May to determine the three finalists for the award.  Finalists will be announced on June 2nd prior to the NCAA baseball Regionals and the Major League Baseball Draft.  A final vote will take place during the College World Series, and the award will be presented at the 13th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on July 1st.

See the complete Watch List below.

2010 Coleman Company – Johnny Bench Award delivered by Papa John’s Pizza Watch List
Jeff Arnold SR University of Louisville
Jared Avchen SR East Carolina University
Chris Berset SR University of Michigan
Alex Black JR Coppin State University
Ty Boyles SR Gardner-Webb University
Ross Brayton SR Cal Poly
Tyler Bullock SR Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Dan Burkhart JR Ohio State University
Tony Caldwell JR Auburn University
Chad Comer JR University of Texas at Arlington
Josh Cryer JR Southeastern Louisiana University
Kevin David JR Oklahoma State University
Aaron Dudley SR University of Toledo
Justin Echeverria SR Stony Brook University
Tyler Elkins SR Bowling Green State
Kyle Enders SR University of South Carolina
Erick Fernandez JR Georgetown University
Kevin Flynn JR Hofstra University
Blake Forsythe JR University of Tennessee
Dean Forthum SR Columbia University
Micah Gibbs JR Louisiana State University
Victor Gomez JR Marshall University
Travis Graves SR University of Southern Mississippi
Ben Heath JR Pennsylvania State University
Bryan Holaday SR Texas Christian University
Jose Iglesias SR Coastal Carolina University
Ed Jayjack SR University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Aaron Johnson SR University of Illinois
Jim Klocke SR Southeast Missouri State
Kyle Knudson SR University of Minnesota
Matt Koch SO Loyola Marymount University
Francis Larson SR UC Irvine
Rafael Lopez JR Florida State University
Myckie Lugbauer SR University of Maine
Kyle Mahoney JR High Point University
Jeremy Mayo JR Texas Tech University
James McCann SO University of Arkansas
Cameron McConnell JR University of Notre Dame
Mike Murray SR Wake Forest University
Rafael Neda JR University of New Mexico
John Nester JR Clemson University
Marcus Nidiffer SR University of Kentucky
Joe Oliveira SR University of the Pacific
Tyler Ogle SO University of Oklahoma
Dominic Piazza JR Cal State Northridge
Nick Rickles SO Stetson University
Cameron Rupp JR University of Texas
Joey Stevens SR Eastern Kentucky University
Beau Taylor SO University of Central Florida
John Turk SR University of Akron
Cody Stanley JR UNC Wilmington
Chris Wallace SR University of Houston

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *