Arizona Wins 2012 NCAA Championship

June 26, 2012

Wildcats Dethrone South Carolina…

Arizona celebrates the program's first national title since 1986 (Photo Pete LaFleur)

OMAHA, Neb. (6/25/12) – For the first time during its 13-day stay in Omaha, the Arizona baseball team started a pitcher other than Kurt Heyer or Konner Wade … but the result was the same: another dominating performance on the mound and another win, for a Wildcats team that breezed through the 2012 NCAAs without a loss (10-0). Sophomore righthander James Farris – making his first appearance in 22 days – logged 7.2 strong innings while his teammates rallied to score three times in the top of the 9th, as Arizona beat two-time defending champion South Carolina, 4-1, to claim the school’s fourth NCAA baseball title on Monday night at TD Ameritrade Park.  front-page photo by CB360’s Pete LaFleur

CLICK HERE for CB360’s postgame video page from Monday’s final game at the 2012 College World Series.

2012 CWS All-Tournament Team

Catcher – Riley Moore, Arizona

1B – Christian Walker, South Carolina

2B – Devon Travis, Florida State

3B – Sherman Johnson, Florida State

SS – Alex Mejia, Arizona

OF – Evan Marzilli, South Carolina

OF – Joey Rickard, Arizona

OF – Robert Refsnyder, Arizona

DH – Bobby Brown, Arizona

P – Michael Roth, South Carolina

P – Konner Wade, Arzona

Most Outstanding Player

Robert Refsnyder, Arizona

Final Stats: HTML & PDF  |  Postgame Notes 
AP Recap  |  AZ Recap  |  SC Recap (w/ video)
Press Conference Transcripts – AZSC
Video Highlights  |  Photos (AP/AZ)  |  Photos (AP/SC)
CWS Stats (teams & top individuals)
Final 2012 Season Stats: AZ  |  SC
Arizona 2012 Postseason Stats: CWS  |  NCAAs Features: Andy Lopez  |  Finals Gm-2 Preview

(check back to this page later for complete recap, along with CB360’s assortment of postgame video for both teams, game photos, etc.)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *