Army’s Moore An AAU Sullivan Award Semifinalist

March 24, 2010

Shortstop Is Only Baseball Player Among 14 Semifinalists

Clint Moore (Army Photo)

WEST POINT, N.Y. – Army’s shortstop Clint Moore has been named one of 14 nominees for the AAU Sullivan Award, which honors the nation’s outstanding amateur athlete. Presented annually since 1930, the Sullivan Award is also based on leadership, character, sportsmanship and the ideals of amateurism.

The only college baseball player to be named a semifinalist, Moore is joined on the list by Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram, who set the Alabama single season rushing record with 1,658 yards in leading the Crimson Tide to the national championship this past season, and Tina Charles, who was nominated for her contributions to the Connecticut women’s basketball teams’s perfect season and national title in 2009, among others.

Known as the “Oscar” of sports awards, and older than The Heisman Trophy, the AAU Sullivan Award honors the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. It has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union, and a pioneer in amateur sports, James E. Sullivan. Based on the qualities of leadership, character, sportsmanship, and the ideals of amateurism, the AAU Sullivan Award goes far beyond athletic accomplishments and honors those who have shown strong moral character.

The AAU Sullivan Award was established in 1930 to honor Sullivan, a founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU). Recognized as a pioneer in the amateur sports movement, Sullivan is credited with developing the current concept of the playground and organized recreation of the present day. Accordingly, he and others opened the first public playground and gymnasium in New York City in 1906.

A member of West Point’s Class of 2011, Moore was named to the American Baseball Coaches Association NCAA Division I All-America Third Team as a sophomore last spring. He was also chosen to the First Team All-Patriot League squad while finishing second in the conference’s player of the year voting. Additionally, Moore was one of 15 semifinalists for the Brooks Wallace Award, presented to the nation’s top shortstop by the College Baseball Foundation.

The third Black Knight to earn Patriot League Rookie of the Year honors last season en route to a Freshman All-America citing, Moore didn’t miss a beat this spring. The Greensboro, N.C. (Grimsley H.S.), native batted .395 with 18 doubles, five triples, 11 home runs, 58 runs scored and 65 runs batted in. He posted a slugging percentage of .724 and an on-base mark of .494, while piling up 134 total bases, just one behind the single season school record set by Henshaw this season. A slick-fielding defensive standout, Moore registered a remarkable fielding percentage of .971 and helped Army set a new team record for double-plays (66), participating in 38 twin-killings from his shortstop position. He established new single season school records for both multi-hit (25) and multi-RBI (20) games this spring, batted safely in 43 of 53 outings and hit .378 with runners in scoring position.

Moore led the Patriot League in doubles, triples, slugging percentage and on-base percentage, while finishing second in batting average, runs scored (one short of the league lead), runs batted in, total bases (one shy of league lead) and walks. He hit .433 with seven doubles, three triples, three home runs, 23 runs scored and 28 RBI in 20 Patriot League tilts, recording a .761 slugging percentage in those outings. Moore authored an amazing nine game late-season stretch, batting .581 with three doubles, three triples, six home runs, 21 runs scored and 26 RBI. He fashioned a 1.452 slugging percentage and a .667 on-base mark during that span. Though just a sophomore, Moore already owns Army’s career record for multiple-RBI affairs (32) and has garnered 47career  multiple-hit contests. For Moore’s full bio click here.

Recent winners of the AAU Sullivan Award include Rulan Gardner (wrestling) in 2000, Michelle Kwan (figure skating) in 2001, Sarah Hughes (figure skating) in 2002, Michael Phelps (swimming) in 2003, Paul Hamm (gymnastics) in 2004, J.J. Redick (men’s basketball) in 2005, Jessica Long (paralympic women’s swimming) in 2006, Tim Tebow (football) in 2007 and Shawn Johnson (gymnastics) in 2008.

Former Army football greats Felix “Doc” Blanchard and Young Arnold Tucker garnered the award in consecutive years, claiming the honor in 1945 and 1946, respectively. They rank as the only two West Pointers to capture the honor.

Fans can cast a vote for their choice for the 2009 AAU Sullivan Award winner by clicking here.

The Sullivan Award Reception and Presentation will take place April 14 at The New York Athletic Club in New York City. The night’s activities begin with an athlete autograph session at 5:30 p.m., followed by the dinner at 6:15 p.m. and the awards presentation at 7:15 p.m.

A complete listing of nominees for the 80th annual AAU Sullivan Award is listed below:

Angela Bizzarri, Cross Country
Zak Boggs, soccer
Duran Caferro Jr., boxing
Tina Charles, basketball
Troy Dumais, diving
Armanti Edwards, football
Erin Hamlin, luge
Megan Hodge, volleyball
Mark Ingram, football
Amy Palmiero-Winters, paralympic ultra marathon
Sanya Richards, track and field
Jennifer Song, golf
Rebecca Soni, swimming


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *