Former College Players Take Rookie Of The Year Awards

November 16, 2009
Oakland’s Andrew Bailey & Florida’s Chris Coghlan Tabbed

NEW YORK –A pair of former college baseball players have won Major League Baseball Rookie of the Year Awards in their respective leagues.  Oakland A’s closer Andrew Bailey took the honor in the American League, while Florida Marlins left fielder Chris Coghlan received the award in the National League.
Andrew Bailey

Andrew Bailey

Coghlan edged Philadelphia Phillies pitcher J.A. Happ, receiving 17 first-place votes and 105 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Happ, the only player picked on all 32 ballots, had 10 first-place votes and 94 points.  Happ, a former Northwestern University pitcher, had earlier received top N.L. rookie honors from The Sporting News Magazine.

Bailey was selected first on 13 of 28 ballots and finished with 88 points.  Texas Rangers shortstop Elvis Andrus was the runner-up with 65 points, one more than Detroit Tigers pitcher Rick Porcello.
The 24-year-old Coghlan topped N.L. rookies in batting average, runs, hits (162), total bases (232) and on-base

Chris Coghlan

Chris Coghlan

percentage (.390).

Bailey went 6-3 and saved 26 games, 24 more than any other American League reliever.  He also led the league’s rookie pitchers with a 1.84 ERA, and was named to the A.L. All-Star team.  He is the eighth A’s player to win the award.

Coghlan starred at Ole Miss from 2004-2006, while Bailey set a school record with 237 career strikeouts in his three years at Wagner.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *