Horizon League Baseball 2010 Preseason Poll

February 3, 2010

Wright State Picked To Continue Success

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – Wright State has been picked to win the 2010 Horizon League Baseball Championship in balloting by the conference’s seven head coaches.  The Raiders received the maximum of 36 points and six first-place votes as coaches were not permitted to vote for their own teams.

UIC, the League’s 2009 regular-season champion, notched the other first-place vote and earned 31 points to place second in this year’s preseason poll.  Milwaukee (24), Valparaiso (22), Youngstown State (15), Cleveland State (12) and Butler (7) rounded out spots three through seven.

CLICK HERE to see the full Collegebaseball360.com 2010 Horizon League Baseball Preview.

Wright State posted a 33-30 overall record and 14-12 Horizon League mark a season ago en route to its third conference tournament crown and third NCAA Tournament appearance in school history.

The Raiders return four All-League performers for the 2010 campaign in sophomore Michael Schum and seniors Quentin Cate, Casey McGrew and R.J. Gundolff.

Schum, a right-hander who was named Relief Pitcher of the Year, ranked among the League leaders in ERA (1st, 1.95), batting average against (1st, .225), appearances (1st, 34), games finished (1st, 32) and saves (2nd, 13) in 2009.

Cate, an infielder who was chosen Newcomer of the Year, placed among the circuit’s best in home runs (1st, 12), hits (2nd, 88), RBI (2nd, 57), runs (4th, 47), slugging percentage (4th, .572), doubles (T-5th, 17), batting average (6th, .352) and on-base percentage (7th, .422).

Junior pitcher Phil Klein, senior infielder Jacke Healey, junior infielder David Leon and senior utility player Eric Marzec, who earned All-League honors a year ago, all return for Youngstown State in 2010.

UIC features three returning All-League picks in senior pitcher Chris Kovacevich, sophomore catcher Nathan Orf and junior infielder Jason Ganek.  Milwaukee welcomes back two All-League selections in  junior outfielder Doug Dekoning and senior outfielder Tim Patzman.

Schum and Valparaiso junior Jarad Miller have both been named Louisville Slugger Division I Preseason Third-Team All-Americans by Collegiate Baseball Newspaper for the 2010 campaign.

Milwaukee’s Scott Doffek was named Horizon League Coach of the Year in 2009.  He led UWM to a 28-27 overall record, 14-9 League mark and No. 2 seed in the conference tournament.

Cleveland State, UIC, Valparaiso and Wright State open the 2010 season the weekend of Feb. 19-21, while Butler, Milwaukee and Youngstown State begin play the weekend of Feb. 26-28.

The 2010 Horizon League Baseball Championship is slated for May 26-30 at the U.S. Steel Yard in Gary, Ind.  The event will feature the League’s top six schools in a double-elimination format at the home of the Northern League’s Gary SouthShore RailCats.  The winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

2010 Horizon League Preseason Baseball Poll (1st Place Votes)

1.         Wright State   (6)

2.         UIC      (1)

3.         Milwaukee

4.         Valparaiso

5.         Youngstown State

6.         Cleveland State

7.         Butler

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *