Ivy League Baseball Championship This Weekend

May 4, 2010

First 2010 NCAA Bid Up For Grabs

PRINCETON, N.J. – Columbia, the Lou Gehrig Division winner, will host Dartmouth, the Red Rolfe Division winner, for in the 2010 Ivy League Baseball Championship Series, beginning on Saturday, May 8 at Columbia’s Robertson Field at the Baker Athletics Complex.

The Lions earned the right to host by virtue of having the League’s best record after going 14-6 (.700) in Ivy play. The Big Green finished 13-7 (.650). The team’s played at doubleheader earlier in the year in Hanover, N.H., with Columbia taking the first game, 5-2, and Dartmouth winning the second, 9-4.

The winner of this weekend’s series will earn the first official automatic berth in the field of 64 for the 2010 NCAA Baseball Tournament.

The schedule for the best of three series for the Ivy League title is as follows:

Saturday, May 8
Columbia vs. Dartmouth — Game 1 — Noon
Columbia vs. Dartmouth — Game 2 — 30 minutes after the conclusion of game one

Sunday, May 9
Columbia vs. Dartmouth — Game 3, if necessary — 1 p.m.

(Courtesy Ivy League)

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *