WAC Baseball 2010 Preseason Poll & All-Conference Team

February 2, 2010

Fresno State Picked To Win Another WAC Crown

DENVER, CO- Fresno State has been selected as the favorite to win the 2010 Western Athletic Conference regular season baseball crown in a vote by the league’s seven head coaches. The coaches also voted on a preseason all-WAC team with Fresno State and Nevada leading the way as each placed four players on the team. Fresno State junior second baseman Danny Muno was named the preseason player of the year, while Fresno State sophomore Derek Benny was picked the preseason pitcher of the year.

Fresno State received 32 points and five first place votes after a 32-30 season last year. The Bulldogs have won the WAC tournament title the past four seasons. New Mexico State ranked second with 27 points followed by Hawai‘i with 26, Louisiana Tech with 22, San Jose State with 19 points, Nevada with 15, and Sacramento State with six.

The preseason all-WAC team included four Fresno State players: sophomore outfielder Dusty Robinson, junior second baseman Danny Muno, sophomore catcher Trent Garrison and sophomore pitcher Derek Benny. Muno was picked as the preseason player of the year after hitting .379 last year with 85 hits, 74 runs, 41 RBI and 25 doubles. Benny was selected the preseason pitcher of the year after posting a 4-4 record with one save, 58 strikeouts and a 5.09 ERA last season.

Nevada also had four players on the team: senior outfielder Westley Moss, senior first baseman Shaun Kort, sophomore designated hitter Nick Melino and senior relief pitcher Tyler Graham. Hawai‘i had three players on the team: junior outfielder Sean Montplaisir, junior shortstop Greg Garcia and senior pitcher Nate Klein. New Mexico State also placed two on the team in senior utility Jared Jordan and sophomore relief pitcher Scott Coffman. San Jose State was represented by junior outfielder Jason Martin and senior third baseman Corey Valine. Sophomore pitcher Jesse Darrah represented Sacramento State.

The 48th year of WAC baseball begins Friday, February 19 when each of the league’s seven teams will open regular season play. The WAC Tournament will be held in Mesa, Arizona at Hohokam Stadium, May 26-29/30. The top six teams will advance to the tournament.

2010 WAC Preseason Poll

Rank Team (first-place votes) Points
1 Fresno State (5) 32
2 New Mexico State (1) 27
3 Hawai‘i 26
4 Louisiana Tech 22
5 San Jose State (1) 19
6 Nevada 15
7 Sacramento State 6

2010 Preseason All-WAC Team

Player School Pos. Yr.
Dusty Robinson Fresno State OF So.
Sean Montplaisir Hawai‘i OF Jr.
Westley Moss Nevada OF Sr.
Jason Martin San Jose State OF Jr.
Shaun Kort Nevada 1B Sr.
Danny Muno Fresno State 2B Jr.
Greg Garcia Hawai‘i SS Jr.
Corey Valine San Jose State 3B Sr.
Trent Garrison Fresno State C So.
Jared Jordan New Mexico State UTI Sr.
Nick Melino Nevada DH So.
Derek Benny Fresno State SP So.
Nate Klein Hawai‘i SP Sr.
Jesse Darrah Sacramento State SP So.
Tyler Graham Nevada RP Sr.
Scott Coffman New Mexico State RP So.

Player of the Year
Danny Muno, Jr., Fresno State

Pitcher of the Year

Derek Benny, So., Fresno State

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *