2011 Johnny Bench Award Watch List

March 10, 2011

Wichita, Kans- The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission released the Watch List for the 2011 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by Papa John’s Pizza.

Forty-two catchers were nominated for the award by their coaches.  Because the award is given annually to the top division one catcher, the list will be updated to include other candidates until May 6, 2011.
Mr. Bench presented the 2010 award to TCU catcher, Bryan Holaday. Yasmani Grandal of the University of Miami and Jose Iglesias of Coastal Carolina University were also finalists. Twelve former Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award finalists are currently playing in Major League Baseball.

2011 Watch List

Milan Adams, JR – University of Rhode Island
Jett Bandy, JR – University of Arizona
Brock Bennett, SR – University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa
Alexander Black, SR – Coppin State University
Dan Burant, JR – The University of Akron
Tony Caldwell, SR – Auburn University
Curt Casali, SR – Vanderbilt University
Matt Colantonio, SR –  Brown University
Chad Comer, SR – University of Texas at Arlington
Joshua Cryer, SR – Southeastern Louisiana University
Taylor Davis, JR – Morehead State University
Jeremy Dowdy, JR –  Appalachian State University
Frank Esposito, SR – Seton Hall University
J.J. Ethel, SR – University of Louisville
Chris Forsten, JR – William & Mary
Brett Frantini, JR – Northern Illinois University
Kevin Gonzalez, SR – Texas A&M University
Chase Graskewicz, SO – Kansas State University
Chuck Howard, SR – New Mexico State University
Steven Keller, JR – California State University, Northridge
Ralph Keppler, JR – The University of Albany
Matt Koch, JR – Loyola Marymount University
Rafael Lopez, SR – Florida State University
David Lyon, JR – Kent State University
Kyle Mahoney, SR – High Point University
James McCann, JR – University of Arkansas
A.J. Miller, SR – Lafayette College
Chris O’Brien, JR – Wichita State University
Peter O’Brien, JR – Bethune-Cookman University
Tyler Ogle, JR – University of Oklahoma
Kevin Plawecki, SO – Purdue University
Matt Reistetter,  FR – Hofstra University
Matt Rice, SR – Western Kentucky University
Ryan Schlater, SR – Bowling Green State University
Andrew Stumph, SO – Texas State University
Andrew Susac, SO – Oregon State University
Beau Taylor, JR – University of Central Florida
Derek Trent, SR – East Tennessee State University
Chris Walker, SR – Fordham University
J.T. Watkins, JR – United States Military Academy (Army)
Zach Wright, JR – East Carolina University
Mike Zunino, SO – University of Florida

A note about the award:
The annual award is to honor those athletes that serve as a team’s starting catcher in at least 75% of the games. Nominees that end up playing primarily another position, such as designated hitter, or those that split their time with another catcher in a 50/50 situation will be disqualified from semifinalist selection. Although we acknowledge the talent of those athletes, it does not fall in line with our guidelines and they will not proceed in the voting process.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *