Dick Howser Trophy 2012 Semifinalists

May 18, 2012

35 College Baseball Players On List…

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has released the list of semifinalists for the 2012 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

This is the 26th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the second year. The award will be presented on Friday, June 15 at 11 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2012 CWS.

The candidates hail from 17 different conferences and 32 different schools. The Big 12 leads the way with six semifinalists, followed by the Southeastern Conference with five, ACC with three and the Colonial Athletic Association, Conference USA, Southland, Southern and West Coast Conferences with two. Every position on the diamond but shortstop is represented, including 10 starting pitchers, five outfielders, four catchers, second basemen and relief pitchers, three first basemen, two third basemen and utility players and one designated hitter, among this diversified group.


P Mark Appel, Stanford
RP Chris O’Grady, George Mason
RP Robert Benincasa, Florida State
3B D.J. Petersen, New Mexico
OF Sean Bignall, Arkansas-Little Rock
P Nick Petree, Missouri State
P Trent Blank, Baylor
C Kevin Plawecki, Purdue
2B Austin Elkins, Dallas Baptist
OF Danny Poma, Hofstra
1B Goose Kallunki, Utah Valley
OF James Ramsey, Florida State
OF Marty Gantt, College of Charleston
P Matt Reckling, Rice
UT Marco Gonzales, Gonzaga
P Carlos Rodon, N.C. State
P Andrew Heaney, Oklahoma State
P Chris Rowley, Army
2B Brock Hebert, Southeastern Louisiana
OF Raph Rhymes, LSU
1B D.J. Hicks, UCF
1B Zach Stephens, Tennessee Tech
DH Daniel Kassouf, Appalachian State
P Chris Stratton, Mississippi State
RP Stefan Lopez, Southeastern Louisana
P Ross Stripling, Texas A&M
UT Michael Lorenzen, Cal State Fullerton
P Michael Wacha, Texas A&M
C Josh Ludy, Baylor
RP Michael Wagner, San Diego
C Luke Maile, Kentucky
2B Alex Yarbrough, Ole Miss
2B Jamodrick McGruder, Texas Tech
C Mike Zunino, Florida
3B Trenton Moses, Southeast Missouri

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball’s most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser’s life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979, after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.
“The Dick Howser Trophy was founded shortly after his death by a few friends of Dick’s in the St. Petersburg Area that played, coached and worked with him,” said David Feaster of the Howser Trophy Committee. “All knew him personally and were aware of him as a tremendous player, coach and friend. The award was initially awarded at the Governors Baseball Dinner held each spring in St. Petersburg to welcome Spring Training to Fla. and as time progressed, we moved the presentation to Omaha, the center of college baseball, during the World Series. I have been involved with the award for over 20 years and have loved every minute of my involvement. I have had the opportunity to meet some great college players as well as some great young men. I am so proud of the Character quality we have in our award, which makes it unique. I am also proud of our selection process by the NCBWA which is the most democratic of any award and provides a true national scope.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *